Welcome to Dr. Westmeier GmbH!

Your specialists in nuclear spectrometry and applications of nuclear measurements

Dr. Westmeier GmbH is your reliable partner since over 30 years in all questions related to:

  • Gamma-ray spectrometry
  • Alpha-particle spectrometry
  • Radon-measurement
  • Dosimetry and
  • Radiation protection

We consult for all questions in nuclear spectrometry and we provide all kinds of nuclear measuring equipment. Our spectrometers (even portable Gamma-ray and Alpha-particle spectrometers) consist of selected and tested components which are configured together with our high-precision spectrum analysis software for customer’s needs and special applications. Our own published data catalogs (Gamma-Catalog and Alpha-Catalog) provide evaluated nuclear data for the libraries in our softwares.

We configure and optimize measuring systems employing all modern detectors for measurement of nuclear radiation such as HPGe, Si(Li), NaI(Tl), LaBr3(Ce), CeBr3, BGO, CsI(X) in all versions as well as Si-Semiconductors for Alpha- and Beta-particle detection such as PIPS and ULTRA, and gridded ionisation chambers. Moreover we provide 3He- and other detectors for neutron counting and spectrometry.

All scientific personnel of Dr. Westmeier GmbH are actively involved in various research projects, such as basic research on transmutation of long-lived nuclear waste, evaluation of experimental data on radioactive decay or development of novel algorithms for high-precision analysis of spectra.

With the help of our new spectrum analysis algorithms one can now quantitatively analyse alpha spectra taken from thick samples such as powder samples or filter cakes (alpha spectrometry without chemistry!).

Our scientists have decades of experience in hands-on education and training in universities and in industrial applications of

  • Spectrum analysis
  • Spectrometric measurements
  • Applications of nuclear spectrometry
  • Special nuclear measurement techniques
  • Neutron activation and
  • Dosimetry

Our specialists are often employed worldwide by  International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA, Vienna) as teachers in international/national/regional training courses or for individual installations and item-specific training.

Herzlich Willkommen bei der Dr. Westmeier GmbH!

Ihre Spezialisten für Kernspektrometrie und nukleare Messtechnik

Die Dr. Westmeier GmbH ist seit über 30 Jahren Ihr zuverlässiger Ansprechpartner in allen Fragen zu:

  • Gamma-Spektrometrie
  • Alpha-Spektrometrie
  • Radon-Messung
  • Dosimetrie und
  • Strahlenschutz

Wir beraten Sie in allen Fragen zur Spektroskopie und bieten Messsysteme für jegliche nukleare Anwendung. Unsere Spektrometer (auch tragbare Gamma- und Alpha-Spektrometer) bestehen aus ausgewählten Hardware-Komponenten, die mit unserer eigenen Präzisions-Software für die jeweilige Anwendung kundenspezifisch konfiguriert werden. Unsere eigenen publizierten Datenkataloge (Gamma-Katalog und Alpha-Katalog) liefern die evaluierten Daten für die Bibliotheken in den Programmen.

Wir konfigurieren und optimieren Messsysteme mit allen gängigen Detektoren zur Kernstrahlungsmessung wie z.B. HPGe, Si(Li), NaI(Tl), LaBr3(Ce), CeBr3, BGO, CsI in allen Ausführungen für die Gamma-Spektrometrie sowie Si-Halbleiter für Alpha- oder Beta-Teilchen, ULTRA, PIPS und Gitterionisationskammern für die Alpha-Spektrometrie. Weiterhin liefern wir 3He- und andere Detektoren für die Zählung und Spektrometrie von Neutronen.

Alle wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter der Dr. Westmeier GmbH sind aktiv in unterschiedliche Forschungsprojekten engagiert, wie zum Beispiel Grundlagenforschung zur Transmutation langlebiger radioaktiver Abfälle, Evaluierung von gemessenen Daten zum radioaktiven Zerfall oder Entwicklung von neuartigen Algorithmen für die Präzisionsauswertung von Kernstrahlungsspektren.
Mit Hilfe unserer neuen Algorithmen können Sie jetzt auch Alpha-Spektren quantitativ auswerten, die von dicken Proben gemessen wurden, wie zum Beispiel von Pulverproben oder von beaufschlagten Luftfiltern (Alpha-Spektrometrie ohne Chemie!).

Unsere Wissenschaftler haben mehrere Jahrzehnte Erfahrung in der „Hands-on“-Ausbildung an Universitäten oder in industriellen Anwendungen zu den Themen

  • Spektrometrische Messungen
  • Spektren-Auswertung
  • Anwendungen der Spektrometrie
  • Spezielle nukleare Messtechniken
  • Neutronenaktivierung und
  • Dosimetrie

Im Auftrag der International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) werden unsere Mitarbeiter häufig als Ausbilder bei Trainingskursen oder zur individuellen Ausbildung in einzelnen Institutionen weltweit als Experten eingesetzt.